A Helping Hand

Sometimes, accepting help is harder than offering it.
– opening of Clone Wars Episode 29 “Legacy of Terror”

I grew up in a small-town, Scandinavian, farming family. I was instilled with a very strong work ethic. We also dind’t have a lot. I know my parents were on government assistance at times (at least with getting us food)–especially during some of the agricultural economic crises. Yet, I don’t remember them asking for help.

Not that I was necessarily taught it, but I learned that being helped was shameful. I believed that it was noble to help others, but not so much to be helped.

That was bad theology on my part. Yes, we are called to help others. But we must also realize that we’re unable to help ourselves. Only Christ can save us–nothing we can do can bring about our salvation. And when we don’t allow others to help us, we deny them a chance to serve. It’s not easy to be in a humbling position–but it’s good for us to loose our hubris. Think of what Christ did for us, after all.

~ by Dave on November 25, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
