Morals of the Clone Wars 1.7: Duel of the Droids

Moral: “You hold onto friends by keeping your heart a little softer than your head.”

Friends are one of our greatest assets. Or they should be. I’ve had a hard time in the past at creating deep friendships. I had a hard head and heart. I wasn’t being authentic in my relationships. I would hide my real self in order to try and make myself more likable. The irony is that we can only be likable when we are open in who we are. Friends are people we share our lives with–our joys and struggles. Proverbs tells us that a friend is someone who hones us, making us a better person.

Consider these verses on friendship (all from the NIV):

A friend loves at all times – Proverbs 17:17

I am a friend to all who fear you, to all who follow your precepts. Psalm 119:63

You are my friends if you do what I command. John 15:14

The wonder of the church is that Christ has called us all His friends (if we follow His word). Were are to be friends with each other. Friendship isn’t based on common interests, but a common concern and love.

~ by Dave on January 27, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
