Morals of the Clone Wars 1.22: Hostage Crisis

Moral: “A secret shared is a trust formed.”

I spent years in relative isolation. Sure, I had friends, but no one that I was ever as close to as I would like to have been. A big part of it was that I was carrying secrets that I was ashamed of and afraid to tell others for fear of losing their friendship.

Since then I have gone through some big changes in my life and the way I live it. I am more transparent now. I keep no secrets (or at least am working toward having none). And I have deeper friendships because of it. When we confide in someone, we build a level of trust with them. They in return are more likely to confide in us because they know that we have trusted them with our secret.

Paul tells us to confess our sins to one another. Outside of the Catholic Church there are few churches that do this well. We confess to God–and we should–but we stop there. We’re afraid to let others know of our faults and weaknesses (as if we didn’t all have them). So, we keep our secrets, maintaining a safe distance from others, only letting them see our “holy” selves. And because of that the church seldom sees deep relationships. We all relate superficially.

Only once we share our selves deeply with others can the church be real and authentic. Those outside the church walls will notice that. And they’ll know we are Christians by our love.

~ by Dave on April 27, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
